circularity.ID®
enabling the transformation to data-driven circularity in fashion

To enable change and accelerate transformation towards a circular economy for fashion and textiles, leveraging technology and data plays a key role. By designing garments for circularity from the beginning and providing stakeholders with essential information at each consecutive stage of the product’s lifecycle enormous environmental, financial and creative value can be captured and re-released to the greater benefit of people and planet.

The circularity.ID holds material and product data, along with a product’s entire story. This ensures future reuse, reselling and recycling at the highest possible level of sustainability. Through this system, data becomes accessible to stakeholders in the fashion ecosystem at any point in time to assess and handle products in a circular economy.

circular.fashion develops services and software for circular design and closed loop recycling that enable a transparent flow of information between material suppliers, fashion brands, consumers and recyclers.

circularity.ID® Open Data Standard Version 1.0

The circularity.ID Open Data Standard allows fashion brands to publish their product data in a format that can be utilised by a variety of software applications along the product lifecycle.

circularity.ID Open Data Standard is split into an XML component that contains immutable product data including material and chemical components, and a mutable set of data that contains product information such as product images, description, sustainability consumer information and service offers.

For more resources and source code, please refer to the circularity.ID open data standard repository on Github. Download specification and guidelines in pdf format.

Specification Reference

Publication Date: 13.12.2019

circularity.ID data part 1 – immutable product data
Data Point Element name Requirements Description
SKU sku Optional description
SGTIN sgtin Optional description
GTIN gtin Optional description
PO Number po_nr Optional description
Name name Mandatory description
Brand brand Mandatory description
Parent company company Optional description
Season season Optional description
Colourway colourway Mandatory description
Product Category product_category Mandatory description
Product Type product_type Mandatory description
Assembly assembly One or more description
Manufacturing step Optional description
Product Certification certification Optional description
Instructions for disassembly instructions Optional description
Finishing finishing Optional description
Embellishment embellishment Optional description
Product Weight product_weight Optional description
Assembly
Data Point Element name Requirements Description
Name name Mandatory description
Material material One or more description
Material
Data Point Element name Requirements Description
Material type type Mandatory description
Name name Mandatory description
Component component One or more description
Weight weight Optional description
Consumption per product consumption Optional description
Construction construction Optional description
Production Step step Optional description
Colour colour Mandatory description
Pattern pattern Optional description
Dyeing Method dyeing_method Mandatory for circularity check description
Dyestuff dyestuff Mandatory for circularity check description
Printing Method printing_method Mandatory for circularity check description
Print Dyestuff print_dyestuff Mandatory for circularity check description
Finishing finishing Mandatory for circularity check description
Chemical compliance chemical_compliance Mandatory for circularity check description
Biodegradability Certification biodegradability Optional description
Material Certification certification Optional description
Tanning Method tanning_method Mandatory for circularity check of leather description
Tanning Agent tanning_agent Mandatory for circularity check of leather description
Pretanning pretanning Mandatory for circularity check of leather description
Pretanning Agent pretanning_agent Mandatory for circularity check of leather description
Embellishment embellishment Optional description
Component
Data Point Element name Requirements Description
Fiber Component fiber_component Mandatory description
Percentage percentage Mandatory description
Is recycled is_recycled Optional description
Source recycling input source_recycling_input Optional description
Source raw material source_raw_material Optional description
production step
Data Point Element name Requirements Description
Type type Optional description
Country country Optional description
Company name company_name Optional description
Street street Optional description
Postal postal Optional description
City city Optional description
Additional information additional_information Optional description
OAR Number oar Optional description
circularity.ID data part 2 – mutable product data
Data Point Element name Requirements Description
Product Description description Optional description
Market Segment segment Optional description
Recommended Retail Price price Optional description
Season season Optional description
Circular Design Strategy strategy Optional description
Circular Design Strategy Description strategy_description Optional description
Service Offer service Optional description
Service Description service_description Optional description
Care Guide care_guide Optional description
Brand description brand_description Optional description
Sustainability Statement sustainability_statement Optional description
URL url Optional description
Product assets
Brand Logo logo Optional description
Product Images product_images Mandatory description